Skip to content

DIY Jewelry/Necklace Hanger

February 19, 2010

I have a big problem: I have a mild-to-moderate case of self-diagnosed (via the always reliable Web.Md) OCD. Therefore, I cannot handle clutter- and by clutter, I mean when my necklaces are all tangled, and untangling them adds 20 minutes to my already embarrassingly long GRT-Getting Ready Time. Oh, and I abhor those little headless bust necklace hangers. Also, I was looking for a way to mix up the decor on my bedroom wall. Picture frames are fun and all, but I wanted something that complimented as well as contrasted my current decor…For free (or under $10, whichever). Luckily, I have the dual blessings of a creative mind and way too much spare time! From that enviable duo came, voila!: the old drawer-turned jewelry display box slash wall hanging! Here is what you will need, and how to get your craft on…

-1 sheet decorative scrapbook paper
-hammer and 2 nails
-Modge Podge (glossy)
-paint
-screw-in hooks (I used 6)
-old drawer (or whatever else you can find that you think may work! Remember, I totally made this up, so feel free to deviate)
-optional: jewel droplet (I got mine at Hobby Lobby for like $5)
-glass (or 5) of red wine

Steps:
1) Measure the interior of the drawer. Cut your paper according to the measurements.
2) Paint your drawer or random similar household object the color of your choice. Use as many coats as you need, but I don’t recommend more than two. Allow for drying between coats.
3) Once paint is dry, apply Modge Podge to the back of your paper (you can also use glue, or if you’re reallll impatient, I’m sure the paint will work as an adhesive). Then apply a coat of Modge Podge on top of the paper. Allow to dry, then repeat.
4) Once it has all dried, screw in hooks in an upside-down triangle pattern (a row of 3, row of 2, row of 1), starting with the row of three at the top.
5) If you decide you want to add the jewel embellishment, screw in another hook in the center of the bottom of the drawer. Depending on what kind of droplet you found, either slide the hook through hole at the top of the droplet, or attach a thread through the hole. Then, using a hammer, some hard object or your boyfriend’s brute strength, close the mouth of the hook.
5) Hang your masterpiece! A hint for girls who are not exactly Rosie the Riveter: using a straightedge and a pencil, mark on your wall the position of the two nails. Then just erase the line!
6) Celebrate your frugality and resourcefulness by splurging on a little black box of wine. It is much classier than Franzia, and it tastes amazing! (plus who doesn’t love wine in bulk)

Here is a picture of what mine looks like…

(Inspiration from BlissfullyDomestic.com)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

