Skip to content

And I keep runnin’ runnin’ and runnin’ runnin’….

February 26, 2010

Image by Ballard Design Studios


Before I start, let me make this very clear: I DO NOT SEW. I am not that girl, sorry. There is no sewing involved in this project. Over my head.

That being said, here is how to make a no-sew table runner to cover up those glass rings, wine stains, and acetone spills on your coffee table…

What you’ll need:
-Measuring tape
-Fabric
-Iron
-Scissors
-Pencil
-No Sew Hemming Tape

How-to:
Being that I got this idea from Ballard Designs, you should probably click here to see the most comprehensive and accurate set of directions. But I will give you some helpful suggestions…

1) Don’t bother measuring “one half-inch around the edges” like the instructions say. I mean, you can, but it’s not a necessity. I didn’t. The world did not end.

2) DO NOT do this inebriated. I did this project twice: once for Christmas for my mom’s dining room table, and again for our coffee table at school. The second time I crafted, I may or may not have had a few glasses of wine. This is not advisable. I sustained several burns, and it turned out a little special, with a capital S. So if you notice the runner in the pictures is kind of wonky, that is why.

3) When you pick out the fabric, go straight to the cotton section. It is usually in the back section of the fabric store on the right side. It offers the largest selection, and the lowest prices per yard. If you are like me, you will be overwhelmed if you allow yourself to consider all the options in the entire store. It was crippling; I spent an hour in just the section with the giant rolls.

4) I added an embellishment on the ends of my runner. It helped to make the fabric drape correctly. If you want to do this, just go to Hobby Lobby or Michael’s and pick out a set of jewel droplets you like (check the jewelry-making section). I attached mine with jewelry clasps.

Here’s some pictures of the finished product!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2010 9:27 pm

    the coffee tables that we have at home are topped with a thick stained glass which adds more elegance to its looks-‘”

  2. November 13, 2010 6:17 am

    our coffee tables have a top part that is made of high strength glass, ,*:

Leave a Reply

