Skip to content

How to win friends and influence people: Peach cake/pie/cobbler

April 13, 2010

Image and recipe courtesy of Bakerella.com


Yes, I could give it a shorter more catchy name, but I won’t. Why? Because I don’t care to, thank you.

Ok so I’ma give you the quick and dirty of this; one because I like to say “quick and dirty,” and two because I’m lazy (as we’ve already established). Here ya go!

What you’ll need:

-1 can of peaches (actually, I think it would be better with two, what whatevskies)
-1 cup brown sugar
-1 box yellow cake mix
-1 stick butter. Again, I would edit it to like 1/2 or 3/4 a stick thinly cut, but who really knows how well that would go. Sticks of butter freak me out. They remind me of Paula Dean, and she gives me the heebie jeebies.
-walnuts (I used pecans, because I think walnuts taste too much like nature)
-vanilla ice cream (optional)

Instructions:

1. Pour the can of peaches into a baking pan. Yes, the entire can. This includes the syrup. Cut the peaches so they are more bite-sized and adorable.

2. Pour the dry cake mix over the peaches somewhat evenly.

3. Slice the butter and place the slices on top of the mix.

4. Sprinkle the brown sugar.

5. Sprinkle the walnuts (or pecans) on top.

6. Bake for about 40 minutes at 350 degrees.

7. There is no step seven. Gotcha! I guess you could call topping it with ice cream step seven…but I feel like thats just unnecessary.


Note: This is the most amazing thing I’ve ever discovered. Like heaven in a pan. If heaven tasted like caramel and gave you a spare tire…

Check out Bakerella for the original recipe and step-by-step pictures!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

