Skip to content

DIY: Twist Tie Bikini

April 17, 2010

If you can get past the fact that the colors look like a Tampax ad, this bandeau top is actually pretty adorable...


I normally try to abstain from mentioning Martha Stewart. I think she’s scary. Like sociopath scary. I wouldn’t be surprised if she has bodies buried underneath her tulips.

However, I find her unavoidable at this juncture. I’ve been saving this DIY for months, and now that it’s almost summer, the time has finally come to give the Prison Princess her day in the sun.

I would first like to state that I think the bottom piece of this suit is heinous. I’m not promoting that smut. But the bandeau twist top is cute enough that I’m going to let it slide.

Click here for the 5 step no-sew-or-skill-necessary instructions from MarthaStewart.com. If you click on the hyperlink for the “Web-Exclusive Slideshow: Simple Suit How-To,” there is an adorable bottom I totally support you trying. I can’t link the actual picture, but the bottoms are similar to these ones from Victorias Secret.

I recommend purchasing solid color bottoms to pair with you creations for a classic, simple look. Maybe this year I’ll actually be able to compete with my stepmom Aileeny Beanie and little-bigger-sister Jordan on the boat! Bring it…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2010 5:33 pm

    Thank you for your help!

  2. May 13, 2010 7:37 am

    As a Newbie, I am always searching online for articles that can help me. Thank you

  3. October 29, 2010 4:30 pm

    You you should change the post subject title DIY: Twist Tie Bikini Grubby Girls to something more suited for your subject you make. I loved the post however.

Leave a Reply

