Skip to content

I scream, you scream, we all scream for ice cream (cake)!

May 23, 2010

Buddy, this is you in 78 years...if you were a girl

Today is my friend Nick’s birthday. Happy birthday Nick! To commemorate this monumental occasion, he asked that I make him a chocolate cake with chocolate icing. You’re kidding right?

 

I do not do regular, non-ruinable recipes. I prefer to stick to baking projects that could possibly (and ususally do) end in disaster. I also hate to follow instructions.

So today, we are making an ice cream and banana chocolate cake. But don’t be fooled by the name: you bake this ice cream cake. I got the recipe from Omnomicon, and added the bananas for a little twist. Ya, because there’s no way this could blow up in my face…

What you need

-1 box chocolate (or whatever) cake mix
-3 eggs
-1 pints chocolate (again, or whatever) ice cream
-1 to 2 banana(s)
-Something to coat the pan. Omnomicon recommends cocoa powder, which sounds great, but I do not own cocoa powder. So I stuck with Pam.
-Running water

Directions:

1. Soften the ice cream and preheat oven to 350 degrees: This consists of pressing a button then letting the ice cream sit on the counter while you watch tv.

2. Scoop ice cream into large mixing bowl

3. Add eggs, cake mix and 1 cup water

4. Mix:Use a mixer if you have one. Otherwise, consider this your upper body workout for the day. Mix with either mixer or whisk for four minutes (mehhh, or until your arms give out).

5. Spray pan and pour mixture

6. Bake: Time according to the type of pan you used. The different times are on the back of the cake mix box.

7. Let cool for 30 minutes to an hour: immediately after removing your cake from the oven, use a knife to around the edges of the pan to prevent sticking.

8. Slice bananas: Make the slices as thin or thick as you please.

10. Ice ice baby: I used chocolate icing because that is what Dego Face wanted, but there are obviously better, less rich options. Try cool whip or just a light dusting of powdered sugar. For the “glazed” look, add a little water to the icing and microwave the container for 15 seconds (icing should be semi-liquid and pourable). Drain any excess water and mix. Pour icing over the top lightly at first, then place banana slices in rows. Pour remaining icing over the slices, spreading if necessary. Enjoy!

Note: You may have to add up to ten minutes to your bake time depending on the oven. Also, do not try to remove the cake from the pan! Because of the ice cream, it is extremely soft (I will not use the “m” word, blech) and will crumble.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 28, 2010 12:07 pm

    Is it wrong that I’m a guy and I’m reading Grubby Girl? By the way, I have the same picture of the old lady blowing out candles on my blog. Its in my story, hey moron’s quit jumping out of vehicles. Great minds think a like, apparently so do you and I 😉

Leave a Reply

